The First Day

Palak Shah MD

I’ve had a lot of firsts in the last 30 years. Some of them mundane, some of them exhilarating, all of them necessary. Pertaining to this journey of medicine, however, there are no more numerous firsts as my “first days of school:” preschool, kindergarten, elementary school, junior high school, high school, college, graduate school, medical school and now….residency. I took a two-year hiatus from writing and reflecting because I needed to and wanted to. The whole point of this introspective journey and its public exhibition was to not lose my humanity. So then, in the past 2 years, have I regained what I thought I lost? I’m not sure, but in going through something harrowing and difficult as medical school and finally arriving at the end point of matching into my desired field in my desired location, I’ve realized, the journey feels a little cheapened without proper rumination concerning what it is I achieved and what was yet still left to achieve. In becoming a physician, my voyage may be finished from the vantage point of when I first started this blog some odd years ago but in so many ways, it is only just beginning. So here we go again as… “boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past [and future].”

Leave a comment